Back to baking… Oreo Cheesecake cupcakes anyone?

After a long sabbatical from baking (for no genuine reason) I finally baked again yesterday. I needed something new yet simple to get me back in the flow. So, I hunted for lots and lots of recipes, and finally stumbled on this one:

Oreo Cheesecake Cupcakes with Chocolate Ganache

I have never baked a cheesecake before. Mainly because finding the ingredients for cheesecake in Bangalore is rather difficult. Especially a good quality cream cheese and sour cream. However, in my last visit to 1MG food hall, I managed to pick up 200gms of cream cheese.

As I browsed through the recipe, I looked for the catch. Its too easy for some reason. In any case, I gave it a shot. And, this cupcake has to be in my list of best bakes! Barely any prep, a 20 minute visit to the oven and there you go – Oreo Cheesecake cupcakes are ready!

I did not make the ganache, as I was worried about its sweetness. I also baked just 6 cupcakes for the first attempt. Mind you – these 6 cupcakes took up the entire 200gms of cream cheese! heavy stuff I say.

Another plus of this recipe – No need to flour, baking powder etc. This is a 5 ingredient recipe. I adjusted the ingredients a little because of limited stock in my pantry. this is what I used :

Ingredients:

– Oreos – 10 (6 for lining, 4 for batter)

– 200gm cream cheese

– 1 medium egg white

– 1/3rd cup of caster sugar

– Pinch of salt

Pretty much followed the recipe to the point. I think I over-whipped the batter a little as even after 25 minutes my cupcakes did not look set, but post bringing them to room temperature, I just popped them into the fridge for a few hours, and they were set just perfectly.

These cupcakes are addictive. They melt in your mouth. The base oreo gives the perfect chocolate cake crust feel to the cupcake. And the cream cheese and crushed oreo combination is just brilliant! Try them! I mean it.Try them!

Oreo Cheesecake Cupcakes

Oreo Cheesecake Cupcakes

5 thoughts on “Back to baking… Oreo Cheesecake cupcakes anyone?

Leave a Reply

