The Year of Reason, Tolerance, Healthy Skepticism and Very Low Expectations of Others

This post is my submission for Eclectic Corner #3 challenge. This week’s challenge is “Resolutions”.

Firstly I’d like to apologize for the late entry. In my defense, the holidays got the best of me 🙂

With this week’s topic, I would like to share with you this particular “very” short story I read in the month of October’14. Before getting into the story, I should introduce to you this wonderful page I had discovered on Facebook last year, where I found this story – Labyrinths. Author – Philip John writes a short story every day and publishes on this page. To say the least… I am a big fan!

This story defines what “resolutions” mean to me.

THE NARROW LANE

You turn left from the main road and steer your car into a narrow lane. Immediately, you find another car coming from the opposite direction. There isn’t space for two cars to maneuver past each other in this lane. You both slow down. You are getting late for work. A part of you wants to accelerate and bully the other driver into retreating. But this is an important year for you. You have decided that this is going to be The Year of Reason, Tolerance and Healthy Skepticism. So you decide you will become the bigger person by letting the other person pass. You turn towards the side of the road, roll down your window and signal to the driver in the other car: Go ahead. Pass. I’m waiting. Almost immediately, the other car accelerates. As the car passes yours, you compose the features of your face to form a patient smile. But the driver in the other car drives off without so much as a glance in your direction. You feel like you just emerged from a toilet after a thankless quickie. You feel noble and martyred at the same time. You feel very alone. You tell yourself there is a lot more work for you to do. And you make a mental note to rename this year as The Year of Reason, Tolerance, Healthy Skepticism and Very Low Expectations of Others.

I love this piece of writing. No photographs or additional explanation can describe it any better.

Over and above this very intense resolution, I have another set of fun ones. On my birthday last year, I made a list of my “50 Things”. Wondering what that is? Let me explain:

50 Things:

Take a sheet of paper, and your favorite pen (being all techie here is no fun… give that old pen and paper a shot). Also give your self a timeline (nothing more than a week). Now start jotting down things you want to do/accomplish in this life. These things could be as simple as getting your hair colored, or as extensive as doing a world tour, or even as deep as becoming a more patient person. The trick is, to write 50 things! No less.

Sounds simple doesn’t it? Trust me its not. The first 15-20 things are a breeze. The crazy part comes after that, where you really need to think. I used to keep this list in my wallet, and add stuff to it on the go. For example – Shopping for tomatoes one day, I had this sudden urge of having my own kitchen garden… so voila! scribble scribble..

The reason we give it a timeline is to get that sense of urgency. To make sure we force ourselves to think.

The best part comes when you have those 50 things ready. every few months revisit that list. See what you can accomplish immediately, and work towards it. I know it sounds stupid. But here is the thing. This list is the reason I blog frequently now, or bake frequently… or for that matter finally bought my car last year..

Resolutions

Resolutions

This year, I plan to target a couple of other items on my list..

Happy new year!

9 thoughts on “The Year of Reason, Tolerance, Healthy Skepticism and Very Low Expectations of Others

  1. Oh what a great post and thank you for joining Eclectic Corner 🙂

    The story reminds me a tad of mindfulness and driving a car doesn’t seem to usually bring out the best in us.

    I love the concept of the 50 do you think you will achieve it again as a list and how many did you get done last year actually achieving doing the list out of curiosity? 🙂

    I think you have resolutions very finely wrapped up there, thank you, Justine xxx

    • Thanks a lot Justine!
      Well, the list I made is for the rest of my life and not just the year. I think the trick here is, that when the time is right, to achieve something you’ve always wished for… you have that little reminder sitting in your pocket. The list has been a great success for me in past few months.
      I made the list in the month of August. In the span of 5 months, I have managed to tick off 4-5 of them. (Baking – I took the cupcake making class after making that list!, buying my own car – I had been contemplating on it for over an year, spend more time with parents – I just worked from my hometown for 1 full month to be near them… and a few similar things)
      Its a lot of fun to revisit the list and see what all you’ve managed to do.

Leave a Reply

