A visit to the Gujju land…

“In a lot of ways I think food is starting to take the place in culture that rock and roll took 30 years ago, in that eating has become incredibly political. And just as the street has always dictated fashions on music and other things, it’s starting to happen that way in food.” – Jonathan Gold (food critic)

This is how I will describe the colorful city, Ahmedabad. I was there recently on an official visit. The city not only has a lot to offer culturally but is also a haven for street food lovers.

The street food culture of Ahmedabad is hard to miss. So I went on a journey to explore it as much as I could in the limited time I had. Mind you, this post is not for the health freaks of the world… below comes the world of butter, spices and cheese…

The streets of Ahmedabad are filled with small shops with outdoor seating offering the famous Gujarati snacks and street specialties. One of the things I have every time I go there is the Vada Pav. The pav buns heated with a generous quantity of butter, loaded with green and red chutney and the best possible version of aalo tikki are not to be missed. They just melt in mouth, and irrespective of the amount of calories it seems to have, stopping at one is very hard.

Copyright: Anuja Kokrady

Copyright: Anuja Kokrady

Copyright: Anuja Kokrady

Copyright: Anuja Kokrady

Do not miss the famous Asharfilal kulfi (ice cream) there. I tried the Rose and Nuts matka kulfi. Subtle and delicious. It was fun getting to eat rose in an ice cream.

Another specialty here is the Havmor ice cream. This is a popular brand in Gujarat. They provide great sundaes and ice creams for the Indian palate. They have outlets across Ahmedabad. Definitely worth a try.

This time I tried a new street food there (new for me, very old otherwise). It is famously known as the “kacche cheese walla pizza” (raw cheese pizza). Don’t be surprised if the menu at the shop calls it the “Italian pizza” :). These are tiny pizzas which are made on a biscuit like crust. And once they are out of the oven, fresh cheese is pretty much lathered on the top of them. It might not look like the most appetizing thing in the world, but it tastes divine. The feel of biting into soft fresh cheese, followed by bakes sauces and vegetables, ending with a crunchy biscuit crust are everything you need in a perfect bite.

Copyright: Anuja Kokrady

Copyright: Anuja Kokrady

A new trend which has started there to beat the heat is that of soda shops. Lots of different flavors are available to add into a glass of soda for that quick drink. I tried the one called – Rimjhim. Very refreshing on a sunny afternoon.

Copyright: Anuja Kokrady

Copyright: Anuja Kokrady

Before I finish, do not forget to get yourself the famous gujarati dry snacks on your way back. The namkeens and sweets there are one of the best you’ll find in India. I usually go to a famous store called Falguni to get my bags refilled.

I am sure there is a lot I have missed. I can’t wait to go back there to try more street food, however, I think I will wait for the weather to cool down a bit.

3 thoughts on “A visit to the Gujju land…

Leave a Reply

